1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Gustafer Yellowgold - Gustafer Yellowgold's Year in the Day

Sing Your Way Through the Year with Gustafer

About.com Rating 5 Star Rating


gustafer yellowgold

Gustafer Yellowgld's Year in the Day

Courtesy Apple-Eye Productions
Morgan Taylor once again wows us with his latest chapter in the Gustafer Yellowgold saga. Gustafer Yellowgold's Year in the Day musically celebrates most of the major holidays in typical Gustafer style, as Taylor utilizes a warm, super melodic background for his deep, witty, and amusing lyrics. Gustafer Yellowgold's Year in the Day easily makes our Best Kids' Music of 2012 list.

The Artist Behind Gustafer Yellowgold

Morgan Taylor is a musician/songwriter/animator who originally hails from Dayton, Ohio and has made New York City his home of late. Morgan Taylor began telling the story of Gustafer Yellowgold, a creature from the Sun, via a picture book project in the winter of 2004. Taylor and his band played the first live Gustafer Yellowgold concert with music and moving images (courtesy Taylor himself) in the summer of 2005.

The full fledged emergence of Gustafer on both CD and DVD began with the 2006 release Gustafer Yellowgold’s Wide Wild World, followed by 2007’s Gustafer Yellowgold’s ‘Have You Never Been Yellow?’ and Gustafer Yellowgold’s Mellow Fever in 2009. Taylor’s 2011 Gustafer release, Gustafer Yellowgold’s Infinity Sock, has been produced as a live show that premiered off-Broadway at New York City’s DR2 Theater in early 2011. All of the Gustafer Yellowgold releases have been CD/DVD packages, and are absolute must-haves for anyone interested in storytelling, animation, stellar songwriting, and, well, super catchy tunes.

The Music of Gustafer Yellowgold's Year in the Day

Gustafer Yellowgold's Year in the Day kicks off appropriately with a celebration of the new year in the super upbeat "New is the New Old," a tune that Fleetwood Mac's Lindsey Buckingham would drool over. Groundhog Day gets a nod in the quieter, more introspective "A Shadow," while the shuffly, Paul McCartney-like "Keep it Simple Sweetheart" (get it? k.i.s.s.?) sweetly gives Valentine's Day a nod. "Pancake Smackdown" is a celebration of Fat Tuesday and National Pancake Day, featuring a largely acoustic description of flying pancakes, ending in Flaming Lips cacophany. The hypnotic, impressionistic "Four Leaved Clover" sounds like a cross between Beck, Jason Falkner, and Stereolab; while the tuneful Easter "Eggs" could be America playing a Smile-era Brian Wilson outtake.

More Music from Gustafer Yellowgold's Year in the Day

The uber cheerfulness of "Midsummer's Son" will remind you of sunshine pop bands like The Yellow Balloon, The Millennium, and The Sunshine Company, while the excitement of the Fourth of July explodes in "Fireworks!" complete with a "Bang! Bang! Bang!" chorus (take that, Katy Perry!). "Werewolves Rock" Halloween, complete with awesome drum production and power chord guitars, and Thanksgiving gets "Pumpkin Pied" with a jaunty Tin Pan Alley tune that Randy Newman or Harry Nilsson could have written. Gustafer Yellowgold's Year in the Day ends with the tender, waltzing, harmony-filled singalong "Fa and a La," celebrating Christmas, family gatherings, and the holiday season in general.

Besides animated videos of every song, the Gustafer Yellowgold's Year in the Day DVD includes bonuses like “Making of Year In The Day,” a behind the scenes one-on-one with Gustafer creator Morgan Taylor; and “Gustafer Guitar Lessons,” which features Morgan Taylor demonstrating his six-string technique and sharing facts about Gustafer and songwriting.

The Verdict

The major selling point of Morgan Taylor's Gustafer Yellowgold releases is the fact that thay are DVD/CD packages, with each song accompanied by iconographic animation and sing along lyrics. This way, fans can see what Taylor had in mind when he wrote each song, plus the whole family can watch along and join in the singing fun. Gustafer Yellowgold's Year in the Day continues Morgan's string of artistic, critical, and entertainment successes, and promises to be one of the best kids' music releases of 2012.

Track Listing

  1. "New is the New Old"
  2. "A Shadow"
  3. "Keep it Simple Sweetheart"
  4. "Pancake Smackdown"
  5. "Four Leaved Clover"
  6. "Eggs"
  7. "Midsummer’s Son"
  8. "Fireworks!"
  9. "Werewolves Rock"
  10. "Pumpkin Pied"
  11. "Fa and a La"
  1. About.com
  2. Entertainment
  3. Children's Music
  4. Music Reviews
  5. Morgan Taylor Gustafer Yellowgold's Year in the Day - Review of Gustafer Yellowgold's Year in the Day by Morgan Taylor

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.