1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Hannah Montana - Hannah Montana 3 Soundtrack

Hannah Montana Returns with a Soundtrack from Her Third Season

About.com Rating 3.5 Star Rating


Disney Music
Courtesy Walt Disney Records

The highly-anticipated Hannah Montana 3 Soundtrack includes 12 songs from Season 3 of the Disney Channel's Hannah Montana tv show, and one tune, "If We Were a Movie," from Season 2. The album features Miley Cyrus' duets with David Archuleta and Corbin Bleu, and a solo track by Hannah Montana co-star Mitchel Musso.

Music from the Hannah Montana 3 Soundtrack

First off, don't read too much into these songs. They aren't meant to be representations of Cyrus' real life, they're merely pop tunes documenting the day-to-day ups and downs of a fictional character. Kids could care less about the unintended irony of tunes that bemoan the "hard life" of a "rock star." So let's look at the Hannah Montana 3 Soundtrack from a preteen's point of view.

The Music

The musical reference that immediately comes to mind is Shania Twain (listen to "He Could Be the One" and "It's All Right Here"), especially with Cyrus' slight twang and husky voice. Throw in a little Gwen Stefani, Joan Jett, and Avril Lavigne, produce it with some fizzy Radio Disney pop rock, and voila, Hannah Montana!

On the songs from Hannah Montana 3, Montana wonders if her dreams of fame have overshadowed her friendships and family ties, and frets over losing her true identity ("Every Part of Me," "Just a Girl"). She details the highs ("It's All Right Here") and lows ("Supergirl") of pop stardom, and has to choose between following her ambitions of rockstardom and a normal teen life ("Mixed Up," "Don't Wanna Be Torn").

The songwriters and producers of the Hannah Montana music machine seem to be running out of steam on this third collection, as Hannah Montana 3 is padded with the songs "Let's Do This" and "Let's Get Crazy," which were just released on the Hannah Montana: The Movie Soundtrack, and the silly dance craze tune "Ice Cream Freeze (Let's Chill)," a tune as awkwardly goofy as Hannah Montana: The Movie Soundtrack's "Hoedown Throwdown."

You also get two versions of "I Wanna Know You," one as a duet with American Idol runner-up David Archuleta and one as a solo turn. In a typical Disney cross-promotional move, Hannah Montana co-star Mitchel Musso sings "Let's Make This Last 4Ever," and Corbin Bleu of High School Musical fame duets with Montana on "If We Were a Movie", a tune originally found on the first Hannah Montana Soundtrack from 2006.

The Verdict

When it comes down to it, the Hannah Montana 3 Soundtrack is harmless, poppy fun for preteen music fans. The tunes on the Hannah Montana 3 Soundtrack may be a little cookie-cutter, but at least the songwriters realize who their audience is and they deliver the goods, unlike The Jonas Brothers' recent genre-jumping mishmash disaster Lines, Vines and Trying Times. Hannah Montana devotees will absolutely love the Hannah Montana 3 Soundtrack, and parents can actually tolerate most of the songs on the album.

Released July 7, 2009; Walt Disney Records

Track Listing

  1. "It’s All Right Here"
  2. "Let’s Do This"
  3. "Mixed Up"
  4. "He Could Be the One"
  5. "Just a Girl"
  6. "I Wanna Know You" featuring David Archuleta
  7. "Supergirl"
  8. "Every Part of Me"
  9. "Ice Cream Freeze (Let’s Chill)"
  10. "Don’t Wanna Be Torn"
  11. "Let’s Get Crazy"
  12. "I Wanna Know You" solo version
  13. "Let’s Make This Last 4Ever" Mitchel Musso
  14. "If We Were a Movie" featuring Corbin Bleu
Related Video
  1. About.com
  2. Entertainment
  3. Children's Music
  4. Music Reviews
  5. Hannah Montana 3 Soundtrack - Review of Hannah Montana 3 Soundtrack

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.